Episode 4: Officer School

“Kagome, Kagome. The bird in the cage goes round and round──”

“Hey, don’t sing! Stop that song!! Don’t speak at all!”

The confinement persisted, extending my one-woman song show indefinitely. Contrary to my expectations, an unsympathetic guard halted me. Even the surveillance openings were sealed, with only a small hole for communication. The voice sounded unfamiliar, likely a new person. This was a workplace with a rapid turnover. Poor thing. Leaving that aside.

“Why is that?”

“Just stop it! Don’t open your mouth anymore! Please!”

“When told not to, I feel like singing even more. Well, let me continue without hesitation.”

“Stop it!!”

A commotion of flapping sounds. No need for reluctance. If I was that tone-deaf… Alright, in that case, I’ll go all out──.

As I opened my mouth wide, the sound of clapping hands echoed. I couldn’t help but be impressed by the crystal clear sound it created.

“Alright, alright, alright. If you don’t want to die, better keep it at that. Come on, if you don’t leave soon, you might rot and die or become a lovely chunk of meat. Those earplugs are utterly useless! I mean, you can still hear the voices, right? Ahahaha, it doesn’t bother me at all! I’d like to observe the progress, too.”

“─D-Director Nicoreinas.”

“Come on, if you understand, unlock the door. That kid’s going to be on the move, so we need to have a proper talk. Wouldn’t want a massacre in the carriage, would we?”

“Un-understood.”

Following the clattering sound, the weighty door swung open with a hint of “Open Sesame.” Revealed was a woman donning round glasses, radiating intelligence. With blonde hair and a white coat adorned with emblems, she cheerfully observed me. Clearly, an elite scientist.

“Nice to meet you, Mitsuba-san. How’s your health?”

“My body feels stiff. Also, I almost died from boredom.”

“I see. That must have been tough. I wanted to get you out quickly, but there were various procedures. I’m sorry.”

“No need to worry.”

I settled on the floor without a care for dirt. No usable chairs were available, and the bed had an odd smell. The woman in the white coat sat down like me, enveloping my hands with both of hers.

‘Hmm, a cool beauty.’

“I am Nicoreinas, the director of the Royal Magic Research Institute. I’ve been cooperating with your father to treat you.”

“Is that so? Thank you very much.”

Come to think of it, my father mentioned receiving aid from a magician. This person must be the one. She probably was quite an important person. So beyond the scope of this door there were many more magicians with spirited decorations than ever before.

“I’m really sorry about your father. I had been advising him to cut back on alcohol for a while.”

“Was my father sick?”

“Yes. After losing his previous wife, he increased his alcohol intake, weakening his body, leading to illness. Recently, to escape from pain, he increased the dosage of painkillers. It can be said that these factors amalgamated, resulting in the current unfortunate outcome.”

“Is that so?”

“Are you sad?”

Perhaps I sounded too detached, Nicoreinas asked.

“We had been together only for about a month, so I don’t feel it yet. It’s not sorrowful to the point of dying.”

“Fufu, you’re honest.”

“There’s no point in lying.”

“I see. I’m that way too, so I understand.”

This person was remarkably approachable. Somehow, I sensed our wavelengths matched. I couldn’t pinpoint why, but at least, it’s better than the usual security guards, servants, or stepmother.

“So, the reason you’ve been staying here until now was to dispel the surrounding rumors. It hasn’t settled yet, but at least there won’t be immediate punishment like a trial.”

“Is that so?”

“Yes. Without any education, you can’t use magic. It’s ridiculous to say you cursed and haunted people to death. If such a thing were possible, the world would be full of corpses. Ahahaha.”

Nicoreinas chuckled elegantly, suggesting a gradual shift in her conversational tone to casualness. It unveiled a more authentic side of hers. This might be her true self.

“You mean…?”

“You’ll soon be free. And I apologize for all the trouble.”

Nicoreinas uttered those words, accompanied by a subtle bow. I reassured her to not mind while standing up and sat back down again.

“So, does that mean I should live in that mansion again?”

“About that, could you really get along well with your stepmother, Lady Miriane? It’s a sudden question, I know, but please do tell me.”

“I think it’s impossible.”

“Oh, I see! Yes, yes, I understand completely. It’s best for both of you to stay out of each other’s way! Ignoring them is the best course of action!”

Nicoreinas wore a delighted expression, her wide smile earning the playful moniker “Niconicoreinas.” She referred to others as “those people,” and the once cool beauty seemed to have momentarily vanished, replaced by a cheerful demeanor.

Nicoreinas’ words were correct. Lady Miriane, my stepmother, harbored a dislike for me, though no discernible evidence surfaced. I chose not to dwell on it unless a significant event unfolded. In this unfamiliar world, I wasn’t attached to anyone. Gilmore was kind to me, but he perished quickly. We had yet to become close, and if we did, I might have cherished him. How disappointing.

I found myself harboring a certain level of disdain for those who were unkind, uttered negative remarks, or posed obstacles. Faces flashed in my mind, their names unknown. However, such thoughts no longer held significance. The prospect of Lady Miriane joining them brought a hint of amusement, but I realized I might not enjoy dwelling on such matters. My inner self whispered with a sense of contentment, suggesting that saving the amusement for later would make it all the more interesting.

“Do you have any desires for the future, places you want to crush, or people you want to kill? Oh, of course, I’ll keep it a secret. Dreams and hopes are important, you know! It’s a girl’s secret.”

While the latter part sounded ominous, I dismissed it as Nicoreinas’s joke and let out a vague laugh. Then, she also started laughing, seemingly a wicked laugh.

“Since I don’t understand much about this world, I am yet to know the limit to my abilities. But, I somehow understand that I was born as the daughter of an important person, and that magic exists.”

“Oh. Even though you’ve only just turned eleven, you speak like an adult and have a calm ability to think. It’s really wonderful.”

“Ah, am I really eleven?”

“Yes, that’s right. Your birthday is on June 6th. It’s the most indispensable anniversary in this world. I forgot to mention it, but happy birthday. Even though it has already passed.”

“Thank you. I guess I am happy.”

“Ahahaha, that’s good. By the way, do you sometimes have various knowledge or memories that you shouldn’t have? It’s what they call a mysterious experience.”

She laughed it off like she vaguely knew of something meaningful. Did she know something, or was she merely teasing? I couldn’t tell. Since there was no point in hiding it, I decided that I might as well declare it openly and bring clarity upon the matter.

“Yes, sometimes. But, how do you know?”

“Fufu, there are various reasons. Well, let’s talk about it when you become an adult. It wouldn’t be good to cram too much into you now. It’ll just cause confusion. Don’t worry about it, since I won’t be dying any time soon.”

Nicoreinas tenderly patted my head. Her eyes were devoid of hostility, instead those eyes radiated a warm and watchful gaze. Yet within the depths of those profound eyes rippled an unsettling presence. It mirrored in her gaze, much like the murkiness I felt within myself.

“─So, I have a suggestion for you. How about studying to become capable of anything in the future?”

“Studying?”

“Yes. There are some wonderful schools in this country. Children of nobles, wealthy merchants, and some common citizens attend them. From there, each person chooses their own path. They’re all young people full of dreams and aspirations.”

“…………”

The word “school” conjured an image of a vibrant classroom, its wake characterized by a sense of peace and liveliness. Studying was tough, but the prospect of engaging in enjoyable activities like singing, exercising, and traveling made it seem quite appealing. It sounded pretty good. There was no reason to say no.

My inadvertent smile met Nicoreinas’s beautifully curled mouth, a subtle expression reminiscent of a “sneer.” I pondered how our shared moment of laughter might have appeared to an outside observer.

“Hehehe, what a truly delightful smile you have. I thought my smile was quite something, but you seem to surpass it. Oh, it’s wonderful. Any ordinary person would scream! I was about to scream too. Being caught off guard is a real adversary.”

“Is that a compliment?”

“Of course, I’m praising you to the extreme. ─So, shall we go to school?”

“It’s quite sudden, isn’t it?”

“Ahahaha, I’m naturally impatient. Well, let’s go to school. It’s fun, you know? Well, you’ll be living in the dormitory, so you won’t have servants like before. But I’ll cover your living expenses completely.”

“Then, let’s go to school. I’m tired of being in this tower. I want to study to pass the time.”

It wasn’t because I loved the prospect of getting an education, rather, I despised solitude.

“It’s settled then! Sign here. It’s not a suspicious contract, so rest assured. Oh, can you write? You probably can, right?”

“Um, I wonder.”

Nicoreinas handed me a paper with an “Entrance Application” and, initially resembling a mysterious code, it transformed into readable text. Some form of conversion took place. Maybe I could write? Despite not fully comprehending, I casually moved the pen and effortlessly wrote my name in a beautiful script.

“Oh, this is elegant. Mitsuba Clove, huh. I’ll make sure you get the Blue Rose’s honorary surname back when you become an adult. Until then, please be patient. If it gets on your nerves, feel free to handle it yourself! Let me know, and I’ll seriously help you!”

Nicoreinas smiled with a hint of lingering madness, creating an unexpected sense of camaraderie, as if we shared similarities. I questioned whether this connection was inherent in my nature. Despite considering myself an ordinary person, I recognized the importance of objective evaluation. In the end, living according to my choices seemed the best path—a simple yet significant story.

“So, what will you do? Shall we do everything right now? Maybe even from now on─”

“You don’t have to worry. Long names are troublesome, so I actually feel relieved. I don’t have any attachment to it.”

“Ahahaha, that’s optimistic and wonderful! Oh, by the way, your father, Lord Gilmore, secretly asked me to be your guardian. Lady Miriane has taken on the role of acting the head, but I’ll properly back you up. From the beginning to the end, I’ll take care of everything for you.”

The director gave a thumbs up and struck a pose. It was quite troublesome to react, but I had to express my gratitude and so proceeded imitating the same pose.

“Thank you very much, Director Nicoreinas.”

“Oh, too formal, too formal. Call me Nico, please. Always smiling, I’m Nico the director. I laugh as soon as I introduce myself. This is my signature move. When I do this, everyone’s faces get twisted! It’s hilarious, isn’t it?”

Saying so, she laughed. The smile, far from a Nico smile, resembled more of a sneer or a hearty laugh. Despite the unconventional expression, given her kind treatment, I decided to bow my head appreciatively. With the assurance that she’ll arrange various things for me and facilitate my departure from here, I found no reason for complaints. It was a generous offer, and I decided to place full trust in her from this point onward.

“So, at school, can we study things like how to use magic?”

“Yes, of course. You can learn many things necessary for life. The reverse is true too, though.”

“The reverse?”

“The ways of life and the path of killing, various things!”

“Path of killing? …What kind of school is this?”

“It’s the prestigious Royal Roses Academy for a secure future.”

‘It might be an elite institution like a national school. Amazing.’

“May I ask the name of the school?”

“It’s the Roselia Royal whatever School.”

“Whatever School?”

“Oh, I almost forgot to mention. Well, you’ll understand when you go. A transfer at this time of the year is arduous but you seem quite intelligent, so you’ll manage somehow. There’s also a physical aspect to it, you know!”

She appeared to be uttering unsettling statements here and there. It was debatable whether to ignore them or not, yet the ultimate conclusion may remain unchanged regardless of my pondering.

“Well, well. Unfortunately, it’s time to say goodbye.”

Quickly putting away the admission application, Nicoreinas stood up.I too hastily stood up amidst mulling over how unbelievably impatient she was. Maybe she was indeed busy as the Director.

“Director Nico, thank you for everything. Somehow, things turned out like this without me really understanding.”

“Ahahaha, no need for thanks. From the moment you woke up until now, it must have been quite challenging, right? But from now on, you can live freely. The situation on this continent is going to change drastically. The capital seems a bit fishy too. Troublesome mold seems to be spreading. The era of relative stability is ending, ushering in the dawn of a turbulent era. The excitement and thrill won’t stop. Let’s do our best to live through it, you and me!”

She forcefully shook hands with me, all the while humming, and turned to depart on her heels. What a stormy person.

‘A turbulent era. I wonder what that means…’

I couldn’t quite get the gist of it and wanted to inquire more, but Director Nico was already gone. Several stern-faced magicians replaced her as they placed various items one after the other. They even opened the bags to make me take a look at it. It seemed to encompass a uniform, changing clothes, daily necessities, and various study tools. They were quite unfriendly, unlike Director Nico. But that didn’t throw a veil over their kindness.

“I want you to try on the uniform to see if it fits. If you need anything else, don’t hesitate to let us know. We’ll arrange whatever we can immediately.”

“Uh, thank you very much.”

“Tomorrow morning, we depart for the capital, Bell. If you have anything to convey to Lady Miriane or the others, let us know. You can even write a letter.”

I didn’t have anything specific in mind, and so was about to say it’s fine, but my mouth opened on its own. It seems that I did have something to say.

“Thank you for everything. Please convey my gratitude to my stepmother, that’s all. I’ll definitely express my gratitude properly at some point.”

“R-right, I understand. W-well then, excuse me.”

The slightly flustered magician hastily departed. The others too followed trial, leaving in a dejected manner. They resembled busy people like Director Nico.

I quickly pulled on the prepared uniform. Yet without a mirror accessing its suitability when worn remained in question, a pretty unfortunate situation.

…Somehow, the first impression was that of a military uniform. Or rather, the hat was unmistakably a military cap. While it gave off a cool vibe, one might question its appropriateness befitting a student. Adding to the intrigue, a saber with a crushed blade was prepared—truly mysterious.

‘Hmm. Like this, maybe?’

I firmly grasped the weighty handle, its cool touch adding to the sensation. The sword was perfectly sized for me, evoking a genuine swordsman’s feel, prompting an involuntary smile on my face. Curiously, a purple hue emerged from my hand, which I consciously directed towards the blade.

‘Amazing. It turned into a purple sword. Ah, it looks like those shiny toy swords you see somewhere.’

I scanned around to see if there were any targets, but there wasn’t. Opting for spontaneity, I decided to unconsciously swing it, leaving the outcome a chance.

“─Hyah!”

Echoing with a thud and a somewhat eerie sound, the purple hue slams the wall before disappearing. I felt like I heard a scream reverberating ‘the hired dog,’ but it might have been the figments of my imagination. After all, I have no idea which dog it was and most importantly I liked animals, so I wouldn’t pointlessly attack.

‘Well, that’s a truly meaningless magic performance.’

I found my magic to be within the scope of entertainment. If I were to name this one, it would be the ‘disappointing climax move.’ Would studying enable me to grab hold of proper magic? 

‘Hmm, I feel like I won’t be able to.’ 

In that case, I’ll embrace the allure of my purple hue magic, mastering it as my signature social lubricant, much like Director Nico’s distinctive move.

The carriage energetically swayed, accompanied by a rattling sound. Despite the enchanting realm of magic, the transportation appeared surprisingly primitive. When I casually inquired about the existence of magic carpets or flying horses, I was ignored with disdain. Unlike the vibrant Director Nico, everyone else here seemed rather dull. A disappointing tale.

Speaking of disappointing tales, the Purple Sword from before could no longer be summoned. Was it a one-time super climax move? I yearned to swing it for an exhilarating departure. Why, you ask? When I inquired with a magician in a hood, I was once again ignored. I persisted, prompting the pale faced magician to dash off with “I’ll check right away!” An hour later, sweating profusely, he explained that Director Nico felt I lacked the right mood after experiencing liberation. Haha! I may not grasp the meaning, but if Nico says so, it must be true. The disappointing sword dance remained sealed for now. Truly disheartening. Well, be that as it may.

“My back hurts…”

I was currently en route to the so-called capital, dozing off in the carriage. I wish they had prepared something like a cushion, but there was only a shabby cloth. Oddly, this carriage seemed far from ordinary—more like a prisoner transport. The door couldn’t be opened from inside, the roof was an iron plate, a far cry from the usual canopy, and I was behind iron bars. Beyond them, the formidable magicians from the other day lay await.

I could see someone resembling a coachman driving horses, leading the iron box. Normally, I might have had a complaint or two, but this was somewhat amusing, so I refrained from complaining. Why, you ask?

“Let me outta here!”

“Hiii!”

Trembling, I extend my hands like a zombie through the iron bars, eliciting positive reactions from the magicians. It was amusing to the point where it made me burst out into laughter. However, after dozens of repetitions, boredom settled. Threats, scares, aching back—it became repetitive. No matter how interesting it was, monotony crept in at once when solitary. Humans were inherently selfish, weren’t they?

I wanted to look outside, but unfortunately, the window was rendered unable to open. The only visible vestige of scenery was a crude dull gray, accompanied by the cacophony of people outside. It was a lackluster journey.

I needed to distract myself from this excruciating boredom and back pain. I went with the flow up until this point and stressed the necessity to remain optimistic. This was also what was required of me from the words of Director Nico.

I didn’t quite understand anything myself, but that was okay. If there was something I didn’t know, I could always ask, and if that didn’t work, I could research on my own. Starting with this very reason, I decided to commence by talking to someone nearby. After all, communication was my forte.

“Um…”

“…………”

“Um!”

“…………”

“Oy, oy, can you hear my voice? Hellooo?”

“…………”

The magician briefly glanced at me, tightly clenching something akin to a stone, then lowered their gaze again—holding onto it since the threat. Perhaps it was a protective talisman. Others stayed motionless, fervently muttering, possibly in prayer. The other alternative could be that the magicians might simply be fatigued; some could stay awake while napping. Playing with children does demand extraordinary stamina, after all. If that’s the case, I’ll liven things up by banging on this iron-barred iron plate.

Taking a deep breath, I concentrated. Then, as I made a fist, I braced my arm and struck the sturdy iron plate with all my might.

“Take this!”

I expected to hear the distinctive sound of hitting iron. Contrary to my anticipation, the iron-barred plate changed color to purple, proceeded to rust, and collapsed into a muddy mess. Ah, this was what they called aging. Cost-cutting has its fair share of merits, but distortions like this would emerge in inconspicuous places. I nodded in agreement, realizing that everything had its pros and cons.

“Oh! The Royal Magic Research Institute’s specially made cage for anti-magic!”

“…You’re kidding, right? S-Stop it, please, stop.”

The obstruction disappeared, revealing a clear panoramic view of the front half. It gave off a feel of freedom. The magicians faced me while holding onto their stones, their faces turning pale. The stone somehow glowed, creating a barrier-like shield, Which I tried to poke and was hastily stopped.

“W-Wait, wait! Don’t panic, don’t rush! Please, calm down.”

“Oh, were you awake? Could it be you were pretending to ignore me? How rude.”

“N-No… Ugh!”

The magician shoots me a sharp glare, then abruptly covers their mouth, vomiting on the spot. Disgusting. Looked like he was sick from motion sickness. Maybe he ate tomatoes; there was even a red splatter. Cleaning this up later will be quite a task. The carriage now reeks of vomit and iron rust. I remained completely unfazed, as I was resistant to motion sickness.

“I-It’s not what you think. It’s not like I was ignoring you. It’s just that talking during a mission is prohibited. P-Please forgive me.”

Another magician threw himself forward, frantically trying to explain. I wasn’t really angry, but it seemed that way. Was my face that scary? I’ll have to carefully examine it in the mirror later. Perhaps even practice a smile while I’m at it.

“Well, you see, I have a very important request. My back hurts, and so does my buttocks. I also want to see the scenery outside.”

I appealed for better treatment regardless of the outcome, as expressing one’s will was more essential.

“I-I’ve been ordered not to interfere with you as much as possible.”

“Just please give me something to sit on. Please.”

“…………B-But.”

“My back and buttocks are really hurting.”

“F-Fine, I get it. I get it, so don’t look at me with those eyes, please.” The magician who covered his mouth earlier conjured up something like a cushion, handing it over to me. It appeared to be well-used and wasn’t very clean, but I couldn’t care less about it. I quickly sat down, finding it surprisingly comfortable. If I had stayed as it was, my buttocks would have been sore, risking a strained back. It wasn’t being frugal; it was the birth of a resourceful girl.

“So, how can I see the scenery?”

“W-We’ll arrive in the capital in about half a day. After that, you can take your time to enjoy the view. I beg you, please, just be quiet for another half day. After that, you can do as you please.”

“Hmm, understood.”

The iron wall was ravaged open in a distorted manner. I sat formally in front of it, waiting. The magicians seemed uncomfortable. I continued to watch the magician who sadly succumbed to motion sickness. They were still white-eyed and immobile. But they seemed to be breathing, so it was okay. After all, humans were surprisingly resilient.

“Huh.”

I snuck a glance, and the coachman quickly averted his gaze forward, appearing anxious. Intrigued by their teary eyes, I observed closely, and the coachman’s back started to tremble. The neighing of horses echoed, and the rocking of the carriage intensified—Then, a hand extended, offering something and thereby breaking the occurrence. A cup, perhaps?

“D-Do you want to drink? Hydration is… allowed.”

“Ah, thank you. I was subtly thirsty.” Tea was poured into a flask and handed to me. I received it gratefully and chugged it down. It was cold, yet quite bitter. While I could tolerate bitterness, I inherently preferred sweetness. The one I drank from the empty bottle the many days prior was delicious. I wanted to taste it again—Ah, the rocking had stopped now.

“By the way, what is the capital like?”

“W-We’ll be arriving soon, so you should check it out for yourself. Also, interference with you-“

“I’ll keep it a secret. So, what’s it like? I want you to tell me.”

I attempted to wear a mischievous smile as much as possible. Some things were better left unsaid. Conscience and such remained unknown.

“…The capital, Bell, is one of the largest cities on the continent of Europa and the capital of our beloved Roselia.”

“I see.”

“As a renowned city of flowers, it has a history of producing numerous prominent artists and magicians. It’s so famous that parents in Roselia tell their children to visit it at least once in their lifetime.”

“…Oh, is that Paris? I’ve heard of it, Paris. Wait, is there a place called Paris?”

Memories became murky. I knew Paris. Everyone knew it. But I shouldn’t know it. Huh. Wasn’t Bell okay? I became uncertain.

“No, not Paris. It’s Bell.”

“But when you talk about the city of flowers, isn’t it Paris?”

“I don’t know which city it is, neither have I heard of it.”

“Then how about Paris-Paris?”

“I said it’s Bell!”

“Is that so?”

A slight witty joke was ignored. Now I could kind of understand Director Nico’s feelings.

Nevertheless, it seemed like a different world here. So, which was the real world? It was quite challenging to answer which the real world was. What was this so-called real world anyway? Since this was in the philosophical realm, I could ponder it when time allowed. In my memories, the City of Flowers asserted itself as Paris. But here, it appeared to be Bell, and, above all, magic existed, indicating a significant difference. I’ve never heard of the Seven Scepter family. Well, it was an irrelevant tale. My memories were vague after all.

“By the way, what year is it now?”

“It’s the year 585 of the Daiwa calendar, June 13th, but…”

“Daiwa calendar? Um, what’s that?”

“Roselia, which follows the Daiwa faith, adopts the Daiwa calendar… You really don’t know?”

“I don’t know. But I’ll learn from now on, so don’t worry!”

It didn’t ring a bell. Since it didn’t, I just had to stop thinking about it in depth. If I didn’t know something, all that had to be done was study.

“Oh, right. How do you use magic? I want to try various kinds too. Magic that doesn’t glow in purple, please.”

Entertainment was pleasurable, but I wanted to try others too. It would be great if there was magic that rendered it possible to fly. But this idea was nipped in the bud the moment it appeared; we were moving inconspicuously by carriage. So, were there flashy magic spells? Transformation magic? Perhaps there were, and the very thought of it made me joyful. It would be good to learn one or two defensive magic spells as well, just in case.

“…For details, ask at school. It’s something we are unable to help with. We don’t have the time nor the permission. It’s impossible.”

“Is that so?”

“W-Well, I have to write a report soon. Is it okay to end the conversation here? You, too, stay quiet. Please, just be quiet and don’t do anything. I beg you.”

The conversation was thus forcibly brought to an end with an indication of mild annoyance.

 Once again, I found myself bored, so I turned my attention to the scenery. As I gazed out, a feeling of frustration washed over me as I couldn’t help but imagine that if the deteriorated iron plate from earlier were still there, I could likely shatter it with a single punch.

“Ready, set, go!”

With a shout, I unleashed a full-power punch, and the rusty old wall cheerfully burst outward. A refreshing breeze swept in, and warm sunlight poured through the opening. The sun’s gentle warmth felt inviting—it was perfect for a nap.

“I-I just said! Why are you──”

The magician burst out, ignoring him, the elderly magician who had been silent all along only shook his head disapprovingly.

“…Stop it already. We can’t stop her. Whatever we say or do is useless. As Director Nico suggested, we should have made it a normal carriage. This is something that absolutely should not be confined.”

“B-But! If we don’t, it would be troublesome when needed. You agreed to that!”

“That’s why I’m saying it was a mistake. If you don’t want to die, don’t get involved anymore, and don’t even say a word. Let her do as she pleases until we arrive. It’s just half a day of endurance. It’s best to pray to the Daiwa God and Director Nicoreinas for everything to be fine.”

“D-Don’t do anything. Th-Then what about us?”

“If you’re so insistent, I’ll get off here. I never knew it was a transport mission. I’ll accept any punishment. I absolutely won’t endure a death like that. No way.”

“…”

Somehow, a heavy atmosphere seemed to loom ahead, but here at the rear, there was a sense of freshness in the air. Yet, the scenery I had anticipated wasn’t particularly remarkable—just trees, fields, and the occasional glimpse of houses. While it initially held my fascination, the novelty quickly wore off. It was a common human trait: repeated experiences often led to boredom.

‘Phew. I feel tired. Maybe I should sleep now. It’s not good to oversleep on the first day of school.’

With a heavy sigh, I reclined. The new uniform still felt stiff against my body, lacking the familiarity of a well-worn garment. Even the leather shoes seemed to pinch in all the wrong places. It’s not that I had a preference for dresses; it’s just that pajamas offered an unparalleled level of comfort. I made sure to pack them meticulously; their soft texture and coziness made for the perfect night’s sleep.

“…Huh?”

I made eye contact with someone who appeared to be suffering from motion sickness. Or so I thought, until I realized my focus was off. It seemed they were lost in a troubling reverie instead. Pity, they might be having a nightmare. Yet, it’s comforting to know they’re still alive and not dead.

“There are no lingering effects,” I reassured myself. “I let it pass because the response seemed positive,” I added. Hold on, I was starting to lose track. Who pleased whom and for what reason? Who am I? Not in a philosophical sense.

Hmm, well, regardless, I was feeling drowsy, so I might as well drift off to sleep hoping for a pleasant dream. As I combed through such matters, I gradually succumbed to slumber under the gentle embrace of the warm sunlight.

—The Roselia Royal Army Officer Academy. Established under the sponsorship of the former king, with the aim of nurturing talents for the future of the Kingdom. Graduating with a certain level of achievement within four years was mandatory for all students. The first admission requirement was typically to be sixteen or older with no physical or mental issues. The second condition was to either pay a substantial admission fee or pass the entrance exam with exceptional results.

For those who successfully passed the rigorous entrance exam, both the admission fee and tuition were exempted, making the academy an attractive option for many aspiring individuals from the lower classes. However, failure to graduate resulted in an obligation to refund the tuition, and students were conscripted into the army as soldiers to repay their debt. Sadly, many fell victim to this scheme and found themselves on the front lines of the battle.

Furthermore, it was nearly unheard of for noble-born sons to fail to graduate. Unlike their citizen-born counterparts, the path to becoming an officer was practically guaranteed for them. Some even returned to their noble lives after obtaining their officer status, adding to the prestige of being academy graduates. As a result, there existed a significant disparity in the abilities among graduates, and the desired outcomes of the academy had yet to be fully realized. The graduation authorization system functioned appropriately and strictly only for citizen-class students

—”Cavalry is the battlefield’s epitome of grace.”

“Infantry is the battlefield’s vengeful bloom.”

The schism between nobles and citizens extended even to their academic pursuits.

Noble students gravitated towards glamorous courses like magic and cavalry. They immersed themselves in antiquated training methods, focusing on mastering incantations for magic spells that were no longer used on the battlefield, and perfecting cavalry charges using flashy barrier magic to dazzle their foes. Proficiency in riding or spellcasting held significant appeal, particularly among noble daughters, but their actual combat performance remained inconsequential. Furthermore, for second or third sons of noble families who were ineligible for inheritance, a military commission became a matter of status. While not all subscribed to this mindset, many ambitious noble youths meticulously planned ahead, securing placement under esteemed instructors or opting for enrollment in the naval officer academy from the outset. Within the navy, there were no shortage of aspirants eager to vie for glory in the competition for colonial expansion, though the entrenched hierarchy between the nobles and citizens persisted even within the navy.

“Nobles become the kingdom’s sword, and citizens become the kingdom’s shield.”

In a display of patriotism, citizens eager to serve their country were often left with limited options, forced to choose from less glamorous infantry or artillery courses since cavalry and magic courses had no vacant seats left.

The infantry branch, despite its gritty image, served as the frontline shield. Once an officer, one had to command soldiers who hadn’t undergone proper training. Bearing the forefront of warfare, infantry units faced high casualty rates and often never received essential items like anti-material barriers. Officer training focused on skills such as formation marching, rifle handling, and troop leadership, with frontline officers responsible for maintaining discipline and preventing desertion. However, the graduates of the cavalry department were typically the nobles, who ultimately command these frontline units. It appeared that complaints from frontline commanders about this arrangement were not uncommon.

“How to efficiently kill humans is the current conclusion. Yes, be careful not to accidentally shoot your allies! Make sure not to incur the wrath of the artillery folks!”

And there was the artillery department, a recent addition established just last year. Cannons recently appeared on the battlefield, and the instructors were retired veterans who had gained invaluable knowledge and experience from their time on the front lines. The focus here was on learning the intricacies of shooting and handling cannons. As cannons were still considered high-end equipment and were not easily accessible to common soldiers due to the lack of a mass production system, there was a necessity for reliable human operators who wouldn’t betray or flee.

While the tactical use of cannons could be taught, practical application was rare. Officers were primarily tasked with following orders to move and set up the cannons for firing.

The main reason for the department’s lack of popularity was due to the grueling training required to handle these heavy artillery pieces. It was considered even less popular than the infantry.

Cannons, while powerful, were vulnerable to enemy targeting and were increasingly known for lagging behind on the battlefield. Deserting or abandoning an expensive cannon without orders carried severe consequences. Human lives were cheaper than weapons.

“…I can’t agree with this.”

Thus, a troublesome individual was dispatched to the Army Officer Academy, where it was challenging to say whether the nation’s taxpayer’s money was effectively utilized.

Mitsuba Clove, a cursed doll left behind by Lord Gilmore of the Blue Rose family. 

The principal, Paruck, ruffled his bald head while letting out an ostentatious sigh.

“…Why on earth would they push this military academy onto me? Shouldn’t she have gone to the navy or something?”

“It seems Director Nicoreinas strongly recommended her. The recommendation letter has arrived here.”

As the clerk was about to hand over the letter, he inadvertently shouted.

“I already know because I saw it earlier! But really, Nicoreinas, causing me trouble and not even offering a single word of apology. What’s the meaning of this?”

“If you’re dissatisfied, you can just reject her. This girl doesn’t meet the admission condition of being ‘sixteen or older,’ principle.”

“There was a message specifically instructing to treat her as a special case. If she gets lost or something, who knows what kind of retaliation will come. That woman can laugh while killing people. She might seriously bombard this school with cannons, not just once, but until it turns to dust.”

“That’s quite terrifying.”

“It certainly is.”

While the admission condition enunciated ‘sixteen or older,’ there had been exceptions many times before. Arrogant noble sons in their early teens insisted they wanted to become cool soldiers right away, and they had to admit them all due to strong pressure. The result was that they got bored after half a year, stopped attending, and graduated a year later. Of course, they weren’t given officer qualifications, but the dishonor of ‘expulsion’ was not allowed for nobles.

“Then, why not impose an entrance exam and just fail her normally? She’s of noble birth, but the Blue Rose family’s honorific name has been revoked. There’s no need to be considerate anymore.”

“I considered that, but… there are unpleasant rumors.”

“Unpleasant rumors?”

“It’s said that those who pick a fight with that girl suffer from a terrible curse. Already, not only her parents but also security guards and servants—over a hundred people have been cursed to death.”

“Hahaha! Principal, you’re skilled at jokes. I’m also a fledgling magician, and magic doesn’t include such irrational things. It’s about materializing and releasing one’s magical power within the body through a catalyst or wand. When incorporated into a spell, it manifests more refinedly. This is the essence of magic.”

“That’s something I’m well aware of even without you telling me! However, there’s always the possibility of unexpected events. Listen, think about it carefully–having the honorific name revoked implies, at the very least, being close to implicated in Lord Gilmore’s murder. Despite this, why grant her such freedom? It does seem rather strange, doesn’t it?”

“Well, that is certainly true. It’s a peculiar situation.”

The clerk’s puzzlement deepened. A completely white scenario suggested no grounds for revoking the Blue Rose honorific name. On the contrary, a black scenario would warrant private execution or eternal confinement. They wouldn’t let it spread outside. Why send her to an officer school?—Was her existence getting in the way? If so, confinement would seem more logical. And so the current scenario remained incomprehensible.

“I’ve met Lady Miriane before; she’s a wise and clever woman. It’s hard to believe she would make a wrong judgment swayed by emotions. In other words, there must be something more to it.”

“I see. Is that so?”

“This fool. Use your head. If not, future promotions will be difficult.”

“I’m suited for my current job. I don’t aspire to be great.”

“That might be a happy thing. I’m also a member of the nobility, but there’s no end to looking up. Knowing when to be content is a good thing.”

“Hahaha. If you say those words in front of students, it’s certain to be met with applause.”

“Hmph. No one wants to hear the story of a low-ranking noble like me. These privileged brats do as they please, and the citizen’s brats are full of envy and jealousy. Honestly, it’s absurd how they gather nothing but garbage. Well, since I’m at the top, there’s no helping it.”

With self-deprecation, Paruck spat out words. He had tried to change such a school through hard work, but the results of his long efforts ended up in vain. Therefore, he decided to go with the flow. Since nothing changed even with effort, it was best to go with the flow and leave it to the next generation. That was deemed the best course of action.

“For now, let’s go meet the person herself. Just listen to her aspirations, and if necessary, shove her into the infantry or artillery. If she resists, conduct an on-the-spot aptitude test and forcefully assign her.”

“That sounds acceptable. However, is it fine to treat her as a noble, for now?”

“Hmm, I wonder. It’s hard to say whether she’s a noble or a commoner. From my perspective, she’s just a troublemaker.”

“President Paruck. I’ve come to transfer Miss Mitsuba Clove into custody.”

“Oh, we’ve been expecting you. Wait, wait. What’s all this about suddenly?”

“It’s an extremely important matter. Mitsuba, please wait here. Please don’t move.”

“Understood.”

The girl, addressed as Mitsuba, looked around with curiosity and responded with a nonchalant tone.

Silver-haired and petite. However, her eyes were problematic. He involuntarily looked away, feeling uneasy about making eye contact.

“President, let’s move.”

“W-Why are you so flustered? …Hmm, what’s this? You look a bit pale.”

Once he escorted Mitsuba to the reception room, the accompanying magician seized him by arm and ushered into the hallway. Despite being a young magician, the emblem on their attire revealed an affiliation with the Royal Magic Research Institute—clearly an elite selection. These individuals were handpicked by the institute director of the magic department, signifying exceptional talent.

“I apologize for the intrusion. However, please be cautious while handling her. Hostile actions should be avoided. She will murder without any mercy.”

“Uh, well, I don’t understand what you’re saying exactly. Certainly, she gave off an unusual vibe, though.”

Those eyes, resembling a doll’s, made contact with mine only for a moment, yet it left a powerful aftertaste. Was there a hidden haze deep within them?

“…You’ll soon understand, whether you like it or not. I’ll just say that almost all the rumors are true.”

“Surely not.”

“Outside, there’s the Royal Magic Research’s Transport Carriage we used this time. Please confirm it with your own eyes later. The cage designed for anti-magic use was easily broken.”

“That’s… ridiculous.”

“A specially crafted anti-magic cage used to transport prisoners. A costly item made of magic-infused luminous stones. Unlike those used on the battlefield, this one, by constantly pouring massive amounts of magic into a limited target, boasts incredible anti-magic defense. However, its cost is incomparable to regular ones, so its usage is restricted.”

“If you want to see the victims, please come to the Royal Magic Research Institute. We have collected several… although they probably won’t be able to swallow meals for a while.”

The magician, seemingly having recalled something, placed a hand covering his mouth.

“Well, wait a moment. Why would such a dangerous person be in a place like this?”

“She seems to want to study various things about this world. So, the director recommended this place as suitable.”

Despite the impulse to shout that this was nonsensical, he caught an unsettling word.

“This world? Wait a second. Something’s not right. Explain properly…”

“My mission is completely finished. The rest, I leave it to you. If there’s anything, please contact the Royal Magic Research Institute. Someone other than me will surely aid you.”

The magician salutes swiftly, hastening away to sidestep any potential issues. Left behind were President Paruck and the cursed doll, Mitsuba, who was quietly observing without being noticed. The instant their eyes connected, a sensation of almost losing consciousness overwhelmed him. He couldn’t discern why, but making eye contact became inexplicably challenging.

“Ugh…”

“…………”

“W-Welcome… to the Military Officer Academy. C-Come on, don’t just stand there. W-Well, please have a seat.”

“Yes, Professor Paruck.”

“Ugh. Y-You seem to have good ears.”

“Thank you, Professor Paruck. It’s a bright name!”

“W-Well, even flattery makes me happy. Hahaha.”

Only dry laughter came out.

He had already committed her name to memory. The question lingered – could curses be triggered by names and faces? There was no such thing as curses. If they truly existed, how could one avoid them? Anti-magic barriers appeared ineffective. Contemplating alternatives, he considered purchasing talismans from the Great Church. Would a hundred be sufficient?

“C-Can you tell me your name? I mean, I know it, but I’d like to hear it from you personally.”

“Yes, Professor Paruck. My name is Mitsuba Clove. I don’t know why I’m being admitted to the officer school, but I’ll study with all my might.”

Upon hearing that, Paruck felt a strong wave of dizziness hit him. If Nicoreinas were here, he would want to punch her in the face with all his might. But it was merely a thought; if he truly dared, he would be killed even before landing a blow.

But this entire ordeal felt strange. Was this an eleven-year-old child? Unbelievable.

Her aura was undeniably peculiar. Beyond just the strange eyes, everything about her felt odd. Could this girl being with the blue rose be a mere joke? It seemed unlikely. Instead, she felt more like a detestable, poisonous weed in their midst.

“…Did you never bother asking what kind of school this is?”

“Yes. Director Nico only said they’d let me study at the school. Am I going to become a soldier in the future?”

“W-Well, that seems to be the case. If you can graduate safely, that is. Hahaha.”

“Then, I’ll work hard to study how to kill people. I heard that if you kill a lot in a war, you can become a hero. Even if it’s just one person, if you kill a lot, you become a hero. I’ll do my best to become a splendid murderer!”

Perhaps an unnecessary whisper from a demon stirred this turmoil. All he desired was to return home and find solace in sleep.

“I-Is that so? I don’t know where you heard that from, but it’s quite an interesting story. But let’s not become murderers, okay? It sounds bad.”

“Ahahaha. It’s just a joke. Um, a Roselian joke. Is it funny?”

“Y-Yeah, that’s right. Ahahaha, y-you’re really funny. Yeah, your presence is unique.”

“The principal is bright and amusing, especially his intellect. It’s nice how his name matches.”

“Hahaha! If you say so, it must be true! Even though I don’t get the meaning!”

They laughed together, seemingly merry, but underneath, it was somehow profoundly chilling.

He thought–‘Let’s refrain from confirming the special carriage used for transport. There’s no need to draw lots that only contain blanks.’

“Back to the main point. What do you want to study? This school is supposed to train military personnel. You probably won’t like it much. I-I wouldn’t mind introducing you to another nice school.”

“I want to study magic. It seems interesting.”

“Yes, yes I get it. It’s true, isn’t it? I understand. I love magic too. Well, adults call it sorcery. Sounds more refined, doesn’t it? I’m counting on you for that.”

“Then I want to study sorcery.”

“I see, But unfortunately the sorcery department is already full. It’ll be a while before a spot opens up. Hmm, what should we do?”

‘Please consider attending another school, I pray to the gods. The navy could be a viable option—ships bring enjoyment, despite the harsh reality of occasionally receiving maggot-infested food.’

“Can’t I study in another department?”

“No, you can do that a bit. If it’s basic sorcery, you can take the course. It’s what they call general knowledge. It doesn’t matter if you have an aptitude for magic. It’s just theoretical learning.”

“Then, I’ll go for something else.”

“If it’s something else, it would be another school, right!? Let me guide you right away—”

He couldn’t help but show his excitement.

“No, this school is good. I like the atmosphere of the school building.”

“…I-Is that so? That makes me happy, but it might be difficult at your age—”

“So, what other departments are there?”

Ignoring his words completely, she prompted for the next without any expression.

Although labeled a cursed doll, up close, she resembled a vampire—silver hair, deathly pale skin, and a somewhat sweet scent. Regardless, the overall impression was undeniably horrifying.

“T-The cavalry department is full. Th-The infantry and artillery departments exist, but they might not be suitable for a noble and delicate human like you. So, something else.”

“Then, I’ll opt for the artillery department.”

“T-Tell me the reason?”

“Cannons seem to have the most destructive power. Probably important in wars. Also, firing them off loudly seems fun. It’s lively and enjoyable. I’ll shoot a lot!”

The revelation that cannons could be enjoyable was a surprise to him. While they might have a lively quality, he didn’t find them generally enjoyable. Equating them to giving a scythe to a reaper, or cannons to a demon, felt like the worst combination. Desperate for a solution, he pondered the idea of convincing her to attend another school—perhaps a monastery, where the power of the gods could seal her.

“I-I see. But you’re a girl, and handling cannons at your age and physique is—”

He desperately tried to change her mind.

“Then, I’ll work twice as hard.”

None of his persuasions worked. Paruck wiped his forehead with a handkerchief and decided to force a smile. 

‘Let’s graduate her as soon as possible before anything happens. That’s the best course of action.

Thanks Siren for another edition!! Also, we are really glad for the support this novel is receiving from you people ^^

Credits:

Manager/Translator: Kirtax

Editor: Siren

One response to “Episode 4: Officer School”

  1. Kirtax Avatar

    Next chapter will be ready soon! Sorry for the late!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started