Episode 1: Awakening

I was staring at the television, which only remained static, or rather the display had seemed immobile for a while now. Perhaps it was because I was just staring at it, vacantly.

The reason I used “perhaps” was because my consciousness cleared up only a little while later. So, after staring at it vacantly until my consciousness drifted away yet again, I finally decided to move away from the television. 

It was just too boring, I felt like I was going to die out of boredom.

 ‘Hmm?’

As I exclaimed in my mind, the scene suddenly changed. It was as if the channel had switched on its own, and the world started spinning around. I expected to feel nauseous, but surprisingly, I didn’t feel that unpleasant.

Several tens of minutes must have passed. While I was spun around, for some peculiar reason, I found myself trapped inside the television box, all the while spinning.

I could see the outside world from all the way in here. Outside, the world was progressing as usual. I wasn’t able to make any sense of it.

As the spinning gradually slowed down, two lights flashed past, enshrouding me in intense light. It was a scene like never before. Then there was a floating sensation, and it felt like I was thrown into somewhere cavernous and far.

‘After passing through the tunnel, where am I?’

I had fallen through a pitch-black tunnel, across a layer of cold icy blue underwater, through a levitating purple mist and finally found a bright and dazzling exit. The moment I stepped into it, the heavy feeling on my shoulders disappeared, and I was overwhelmed by an incredible sense of liberation, as if I had soared into the vast sky or even into the boundless outer space. The first thing that came to my mind was,

‘This world revolves around me.’

—Of course, that’s not true, but I was observing the world with such a thrilling stimulus that I didn’t notice when a white-bearded gentleman with a dandy face crept near and embraced me. Then it dawned to me,

‘Ah, I have awakened.’

“Oh, oh!? What’s happening?”

‘?’

“G-God, finally, finally, you have heard my prayers. Oh, great lord, I am truly grateful from the bottom of my heart!”

‘?’

Despite that dandy look, his face was soaked with nasal mucus and tears for some reason. I wanted to say something, so I opened my mouth, but my throat was in tremendous pain and just wouldn’t cooperate. I wondered if I had gotten tonsillitis. I always felt like my tonsils were weak. I didn’t know if it was true.

“…Wh-What?”

“W-What’s wrong? P-Perhaps, again. No, was it incomplete after all?”

The gentleman panicked, his face turning pale. It was amusing, like Munch’s The Scream, so I couldn’t help but laugh. The problem was that I couldn’t move my facial expressions well. It would be rude to laugh at someone you just met.

“…”

“M-Mitsuba? Are you okay? H-How is your body?”

“U-Uh…”

“P-Perhaps, this time, the magic was not perfect?”

The gentleman spoke of magic and things I didn’t understand. I thought maybe I had watched too much anime, but it was probably some kind of joke, a type of icebreaker to ease the tension.

“B-But, what should I do? There’s not much time left to call Nicoreinas…”

“…”

After closing my eyes for a while and thinking through, I gave up on speaking and decided to point at my own throat. I should have done this from the beginning. After a moment of silence, the gentleman breathed a sigh of relief and smiled.

“Is, is your body okay? Is there any discomfort?”

I nodded, pointing at my throat.

“Oh, your throat? Your throat hurts!?”

I nodded again. He finally seemed to understand.

“Oh, Mitsuba. My beloved wife’s heir! Despite just waking up, you’re already trying to let me hear your voice!”

“…”

The gentleman was indulged in his deep emotions. His tears still hadn’t dried up.

“How kind… No, now more important than that, water, water! Hey, don’t just stand there, bring water quickly! Mitsuba’s throat is hurting!”

“I-I will prepare it right away!”

My throat was scratchy, but my vision was clear. The servant lady, ordered by the dandy gentleman, hurriedly offered a jug of water. With me still in his arms, the gentleman tilted the jug for me.

 ‘I see, it seems like I am being taken care of.’

“Now, drink without haste. You’re already fine; there’s nothing to worry about.”

“…”

“I will protect you from everything. This time, for sure. No matter what anyone says, you are someone I will protect with all my heart and soul. And you will inherit everything. Yes, I won’t let you go to anyone else.”

“?”

When I showed a question mark above my head, the gentleman smiled wryly and shook his head.

“Ah, it seems I got carried away with my joy. There are many things to discuss, but there’s no need to rush… Yes, I’ll have a light meal prepared, so you should calm down first. I also need to wash my face and freshen up. I can’t appear as a father with this unkempt face. Anyway, let’s talk about it later.”

I lightly nodded at the gentleman’s soothing voice.

Since I had no idea about my situation, such consideration was very much appreciated.

But, for now, let me ask just one thing. If I didn’t ask this, I wouldn’t be able to calm down at all.

“Just one thing.”

“What? What’s wrong?”

“…Just one thing, please tell me.”

“Huh? You can ask anything without hesitation.”

“Who am I, exactly?”

For a moment, the gentleman showed a hint of bewilderment in his expression, but he quickly returned to a smiling face.

“You are—Mitsuba Blue Rose Clove. The heiress of the Clove family, bearing the name of one of the great Roselia Seven Wands, Blue Rose. However, for now, that doesn’t matter. Just know that you are my beloved daughter.”

After patting my head with his rough and firm hand, he signaled to the servants and left the room.

“Prepare the finest meal. Arrange clothing quickly. Hurry!”

“P-Please wait, sir! E-Even if you say a meal, um, we cannot touch the young lady.”

“Nonsense! What foolishness are you spouting? There’s no need for magic stones or catalysts anymore as she has woken up. Since it will be Mitsuba’s first meal, prepare the best you can!”

“H-However. If it’s just us, we might, um, not be able to handle if something were to happen—”

“Then tell Pierre and have him arrange it! I have something urgent for Mitsuba!”

The servant lady shook her head vigorously, but the gentleman—who was probably my father—boldly walked away without paying any attention. The remaining servant ladies stood there dumbfounded.

’My name seems to be Mitsuba.’

I directed my gaze at the intricately carved mirror in the room.

The mirror cast back, a silver-haired, cerulean-eyed girl looking like a doll with pure white skin. Calling this visage “a doll” sounded rather nice, but in reality, it looked more like a corpse. I placed my hands on my cheeks. Cold, but I seemed to be alive at least. There was a surge of relief. The possibility of me being a zombie was ruled out. 

That’s indeed a relief.

I directed my gaze towards the servant lady. For some reason, she let out a small gasp, freezing there in an upright posture.

“Um…”

“Y-Yes, yes. W-w-what can I do for you?”

“──Where is this place?”

“This is Lady Mitsuba’s room. I-I am just a humble servant assigned to serve Lady Mitsuba.”

“I see. So, who are you?”

“I-I am Rubina, a servant. I have been serving in this mansion for about half a year.”

“Ah, I see.”

“L-Lady Mitsuba, p-please, please don’t absorb our souls!”

Saying so, the servant lady suddenly sat in a seiza position and began to pray. I seemed to be the target of her prayers. She was chanting something that sounded like a prayer, but of course, I wouldn’t attain enlightenment because I was not a spirit. I had a physical body.

“Absorb souls?”

“N-Nooooo!”

“Can I actually absorb souls?”

I wonder when I turned into a soul-sucking entity. Or maybe this was some kind of a sly joke. I didn’t really understand. I didn’t know if souls tasted good. Maybe they resembled soft-serve ice creams in shape. That was me attempting at a joke.

“I-I don’t know! I don’t know anything! I didn’t see anything, I didn’t hear anything!”

“Hey. Can I actually absorb your soul?”

“O-please, please forgive us! Oh, God, help us!”

Unfortunately, I couldn’t get any information from the lady.

Suddenly perceiving a gaze cast on me, I turned and looked in that direction. The door was slightly ajar, as a few maids and someone who looked like a butler were peering in. None of their faces displayed a pleasant expression.

I got out of bed, enduring my shaky legs, and stood up straight. Feeling a strange stiffness in my shoulders and arms, It seemed like I was walking in a strange way.

The servant lady stared at me with her teeth chattering.

I tried to reassure her by placing my hand on her tousled head.

“Gepu!”

With a strange scream, the lady fell forward, foaming at the mouth. She seemed to be alive because she was groaning. So I shifted my gaze back to the door.

“Gyaaaaaaaaaa!!”

With a terrified scream, the maids scattered away like fleeing spiders. The only one left standing there was the pitiful butler-like gentleman whose legs gave out weakly.

“Why—my back, it’s, it’s given out. S-someone…”

“So, who are you?”

Looking down at the man clutching his back, I inquired. After looking around anxiously, he opened his mouth as if he had resigned himself to his fate.

“I-I have been serving in this mansion for many years. M-my name is Pierre. As a butler, I supervise the servants…”

“Pierre-san, right? Well, I’ll go with you then. Yeah, I’ll choose you. Tell me various things about this world, okay? I don’t know anything. I’m a beginner.”

I smiled a little and slowly began to walk towards the butler. This time, I stepped carefully, one step at a time, firmly on the floor, so as not to surprise him. Pierre was nodding frantically with a face that seemed on the verge of tears. His neck might sprain at this rate.

Anyways, it seemed like busy days were up ahead. But, I knew one thing for sure. Things would definitely work out.

Credits:

Manager/Translator: Kirtax

Editor: Siren

Second chapter next week!

Welcome to the team, Siren!

Leave a comment

Previous Post
Next Post

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started